Perfection.

Published by

on

I had to remake something in the shop today because it didn’t come out perfect. And what you need for a show is perfect. “I’ll make yours perfect even if this one isn’t!” just doesn’t cut it. People want to see what they’re actually going to get.

I’ve called myself a recovering perfectionist for a number of years now. The trap of perfectionism is performance-based acceptance, and that is not what I am called to as a follower of Christ. He bestows on me the performance of Another, in order to wipe out my futile attempts to follow his commands under my own power, and to restore right relationship with the Father.

I’m not all the way there yet – not even close! – hence the “recovering” part. Days like today are a gentle reminder from a kind God.

In other news, the left side of my left hand continues to be pseudo-numb, increasingly so when my arm is bent in any way. I must have something pinched in my elbow but I have no clue how to go about getting it addressed. Open to advice on this one.

Today:

things read.

from actual books

Anytime, anytime while I was a slave, if one minute’s freedom had been offered to me, and I had been told I must die at the end of that minute, I would have taken it – just to stand one minute on God’s earth a free woman – I would.

Elizabeth Freeman

In “adopting” us, God has taken no half measures; we have been made full members of the family and partakers of all the privileges belonging to members of that family.

Douglas Moo, The Epistle to the Romans

tbr.

add it to the list

snippets.

just a line or two

Matt Walsh

the interwebs.

a link list

the IG.

story-worthy

soundtrack.

in my ears

Good for the quiet moments.

If we consider the law as a vessel that had some water in it before, [Christ] did not come to pour out the water, but to fill the vessel up to the brim.
Matthew Henry

Leave a comment

Previous Post
Next Post
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started